This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.5 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.6
Facilities
7.7
Staff
9.6
Value
7.9
Reviews
    gb
    7.9
    10 December 2017
    Very nice boutique hotel, isolated and private with an amazing view
    Food and drinks are very expensive, specially for dinner where was the most expensive dinner we had in the whole Caribbean vacation, we spend about 100 USD without any wine on a 2 course meal.
    The property is a old fortress renovated and converted into a boutique hotel. It has an amazing view with a small but cute pool and it is very isolated and private. Staff is very professional. Room was in colonial style and some of the decoration was aligned with the style. Continental breakfast was a little bit better than the standard Caribbean, but nothing really special.
    gb
    10
    22 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    marie aurelie
    fr
    9.2
    25 May 2017
    A week in tropical paradise
    Hotel is very isolated but it is a good thing as long as you rent a car (50us$ a day against 30ec$ one way for taxi to the harbour or beaches!) transportation is very expensive. Food on the islands is VERY expensive too and very AMERICAN creole style wich was very disapointing compare to french creole cuisine from martinique and guadeloupe (for lunch you can find just in front of the tourism office a place where local people sell cheap food on the go) Dont go to grenadines if you want to eat well and discover new food, for that you need to go to seychelles, reunion, guadeloupe or thailand) Anyway food at old fort hotel was maybe the best we had thoughout our whole trip (perfectly cooked barracuda with creole rice and fried bananas, amazing, thank you chef!) Be careful dont go there in may it is very low season and if you wanna see people you won t find no one. Boats are not always operating so make sure before departure otherwise you might have prbs ($flights$) going island hoping. In other words if you have money for food and transportation, if you love nature and if you go in april. Just get there.
    It is luxury from another scale, don t expect luxury like hilton or relais chateau, it is natural, oldfashioned, simple, easy going luxury. The room we had was very large with a huge terrace overviewing the ocean 180° !! Simply amazing. The bed is kingsize The service is discreet and always caring, perfect. We were alone in the hotel (may is low season) Breakfast facing the ocean in the middle of the eden garden. Every one of staff is very nice and come very kindly to share and discuss with you. This place is one of a kind you ll always remember
    roger
    gb
    8.3
    14 March 2017
    Pure relaxation
    Breakfast could have been a little more generous although once I mentioned how much I liked coconut water we were presented with freshly picked coconuts from the surrounding trees with breakfast.
    This is an unusual hotel in that it works in a very relaxed Caribbean style,yes the internet is slow,so what,I came to Bequia to get away from all that.The room we were in,top tower was comfortable,the mattress extremely comfortable ,probably one of the best anywhere in the world,the views stunning and the sense of tranquility unsurpassed. It takes a couple of days to unwind from a busy schedule into the local pace so could be a culture shock for some. The stay was enhanced by the manager,Miguel,thoroughly charming and for whom nothing was too much trouble,fresh milk provided daily for my early morning coffee always smiling and sharing a joke.I think without him the little niggles could have become an issue but he sorted everything out and is a real asset to this establishment.The taxi ride to and from the port is 25 EC not US as someone mentioned so very affordable and worth it to be high up enjoying the breeze and views.All in all very enjoyable just needs a few tweaks.
    Jane
    bb
    8.3
    7 February 2017
    A failed experiment.
    Over bearing personality of the major demo who runs the place. He talks too much and makes too much noise, making privacy difficult.
    The best thing about the place is the view. The menu is limited but there's a very good chef who knows how to cook.
    Terry
    ca
    6.7
    31 January 2017
    Camping at Fawlty Towers
    The menu for meals in were not well planned if staying for 2 weeks as we did , The repeat meals became boring ,The cook was sick and unable to come to work for several days,No Back up
    The staff are what make the holiday a treat.They bend over backwards to do anything .
    susie
    au
    9.2
    25 June 2016
    another day would have been just great
    wonderful surprise and walk down path and discover the view and a cute little bar set in the garden with a welcoming rum punch waiting!!!! after being picked up from a 45 min car ferry trip from Kingston. this is a unique property set high up the hill with magnificent views over the sea. we were upgraded to a very large suite (suitable for 4) and it was just delightful, worth paying extra for as had huge verandah and comfortable lounge area, plus bedrooms - renovated bathroom. take mossie repellent!!! low season so very quiet and relaxing. it is isolated, so no beach access, just pool relaxation!! you can pay for get taxi to and from town $20US each way. very friendly staff made our holiday most enjoyable.
    Estelle
    vc
    9.2
    25 May 2016
    Amazing place...
    Booked a room with breakfast included in the price (it was higher than without) only to discover that breakfast was, in fact, complimentary.
    The staff were incredible. So helpful and accommodating. The food was absolutely delicious. Beautiful surroundings. Peaceful.
    maureen
    gb
    7.9
    18 March 2016
    Great Stay
    I thought the rooms were tired. The buildings are very interesting and it is very much an old fort which is as it should be. However the rooms really do need upgrading. The furnishings are very 1950 and I know we are on a small island as we spend a lot of time on Bequia but the rooms need to be brought up to the 21st century particularly the bathrooms. But the water is hot which was a great treat
    Loved the location and the views are spectacular. The swimming pool is brilliant and the food in the restaurant is very good. The staff are outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. I was particulary pleased that they are staging some local events which will be interesting for guests. The owner whom we spoke to a lot is a very interesting man and we thoroughly enjoyed our talks.
Close